Chinese Pagoda Sketch

6

August 11, 2013 by mamie

Chinese Pagoda Sketch

Completed Date: 8/9/13

Medium: watercolor and pen & ink

Description: For this architecture assignment, I thought it would be more interesting to choose a piece of architecture that was ancient or ancient looking, especially since I thought that subject and my pre-chosen medium would work well together. I had never tried drawing anything with an Asian theme, so this was the perfect chance. I love the creative, bright, and colorful design of Chinese pagodas, so it was especially fun to work with that design in  watercolors.

 

6 thoughts on “Chinese Pagoda Sketch

  1. violetski says:

    It’s beautiful , Mamie 😃❤

    • mamiesmith says:

      Thank you, Violet! When I realized I had to paint using watercolors, which I don’t usually paint with, I thought of your wonderful paintings for some inspiration.

  2. prewitt1970 says:

    Nicely done, 🙂 I must say I do really love the trees.
    B

  3. Rhys Jones says:

    Lovely colourful image. Did you go to a particular location?

    • mamiesmith says:

      I wish I went to China! 🙂 No, I was looking for pictures of architecture online for references. One of my friends was a Fulbright Scholar in China for the past 6 months, though, so I got some inspiration from her stories.

Leave a comment

Artwork on Etsy!

Pieces of original artwork, prints, and custom journals with sewn covers are now available on Etsy for a great prices! The bright drawings and paintings make wonderful gifts and decorations.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Life Legacies

Mrs. Brenda Hotard: The Way Back to Dance Through Tatiana Dakoudovska

An Incredible Story of a Life Devoted to Dance and So Much More    THE WAY BACK TO DANCE THROUGH TATIANA DOKOUDOVSKA   This time, everything was going my way in Leavenworth, Kansas. My husband had risen in rank and experience and was delighted with his new position as Chief Executive Officer of the installation. Our […]