Little Things

1

November 7, 2015 by mamie

Little Things 3

 

Again, this piece is a continuation of my Growing Relationship with Nature piece– the third and last part. I decided to add a splash of color because the whole little painting (the size of a business card) is based on one of my favorite poems that is so beautiful in its simplicity and that I connect with so much, especially the first two verses. It’s all about what brings color and meaning to life. I love the little things. To me, that is what matters most in life, and it adds so much to my day if I pick up on the little beautiful moments. That’s why I can’t help being a little late to something if serendipity brings me a wonderful conversation with a random person while I get a haircut.

Sometimes, of course, I pay attention to those little things a little too much when I try to analyze my work or certain parts of the day, and I realize that I should remind myself to take a deep breath, brush away those tiny things, and move on. There is always that balance needed. Still, who can deny the refreshing beauty of the sounds of children playing on a nearby playground, a elderly man tipping his hat while passing along a sidewalk, or a small spiderweb with dew on a bright sunny morning? It’s cheesy, but hey, it’s the fun part of life!

 

Little drops of water,
Little grains of sand,
Make the mighty ocean
And the pleasant land.

So the little moments,
Humble thought they be,
Make the mighty ages
Of Eternity.

So the little errors
Lead the soul away
From the paths of virtue
Far in sin to stray.

Little deeds of kindness,
Little words of love,
Help to make earth happy
Like the Heaven above.

 

~Julia Abigail Fletcher Carney

 

Hello Dear FriendAlso, check out this blog post by Jenny, my awesome leader from my incredible trip to Peru a few years ago. She helped me make it to the top of the Lares Trail on the toughest hike of my life. The post she wrote on her blog a while ago is so inspiring, and you’ll love it! I posted a link to same page a while back, but it’s one of those things that means so much and never goes away. 🙂

 

 

Little Things

One thought on “Little Things

  1. Reblogged this on sketchuniverse and commented:
    HI SISTERS! WHAT ABOUT YOUR WEEKEND ? TODAY WE HAVE SOMETHING WONDERFUL BY MAMIE AND ALSO AN EXQUISITE POEM BY JULIA ABIGAIL. HAPPY DAYS, DEAR !

Leave a Reply

Artwork on Etsy!

Pieces of original artwork, prints, and custom journals with sewn covers are now available on Etsy for a great prices! The bright drawings and paintings make wonderful gifts and decorations.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Life Legacies

Mrs. Brenda Hotard: The Way Back to Dance Through Tatiana Dakoudovska

An Incredible Story of a Life Devoted to Dance and So Much More    THE WAY BACK TO DANCE THROUGH TATIANA DOKOUDOVSKA   This time, everything was going my way in Leavenworth, Kansas. My husband had risen in rank and experience and was delighted with his new position as Chief Executive Officer of the installation. Our […]

