Overhead

2

August 15, 2015 by mamie

Overhead 2

 

This piece came from my Drawing in Place class this spring. It’s funny because I can’t even remember the assignment. I can only remember staying up really late in the Commons building on campus and running into a friend who was in the same room staying up late watching movies. (Lucky them…) It was so nice to have some nice company, though, while making decisions about colors and values, where to put what, and even deciding whether I was done or not– haha. Usually, it ends up being my dog or cats who gives me that company and support! (They also set that artistic energy and atmosphere.)

I do remember walking around the entrance of Nature Camp, where the class was held, though, and being told to catch inspiration from the word/theme “overhead.” I needed to explore the natural area while mainly looking up and sparking ideas for a project. While walking, what I loved were the designs, overlapping, and intertwining of all the branches. The shapes made by the winding forms of life in the sky were gorgeous. I even loved the negative space of the sky itself. Thus, I stayed up late that night and completed my little study from both my memories and my imagination.

Here's a picture of one step of the process. The black and white and simplistic version is nice just for observing the designs, I think.

Here’s a picture of one step of the process. The black and white and simplistic version is nice just for observing the shapes and designs, I think.

2 thoughts on “Overhead

  1. Mary says:

    Beautiful and fluid Mamie – the melding of color and line is wonderful level of creativity. Nice to see your work again ~

    • mamie says:

      Thank you so much, Mary! That class definitely got me to try new styles– more abstract I think, and more about the idea than the technique. It was definitely fun to experiment a little and branch out. On Aug 17, 2015 2:32 PM, “Artistic Imaginings” wrote: > >

Leave a Reply

Artwork on Etsy!

Pieces of original artwork, prints, and custom journals with sewn covers are now available on Etsy for a great prices! The bright drawings and paintings make wonderful gifts and decorations.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Life Legacies

Mrs. Brenda Hotard: The Way Back to Dance Through Tatiana Dakoudovska

An Incredible Story of a Life Devoted to Dance and So Much More    THE WAY BACK TO DANCE THROUGH TATIANA DOKOUDOVSKA   This time, everything was going my way in Leavenworth, Kansas. My husband had risen in rank and experience and was delighted with his new position as Chief Executive Officer of the installation. Our […]

