A Growing Relationship with Nature

5

May 3, 2015 by mamie

A Growing Relationship with Nature

Completed Date: 4/27/15

Medium: pen and ink

Description: For my first assignment of the drawing course I’m taking this spring, my class told the story of their chronological relationship with nature through a pen drawing. The assignment was due just the day later, and I have to say that I struggled with coming up with a good way to represent such a large story and one that was so important to me.

Throughout my all-nighter of a night, I brainstormed a little with my favorite experiences with nature that meant the most to me, and then I came up with a little symbol for each one. While drawing out all the little symbols to represent the long journey that continues, I placed each in a clockwise, chronological circle around and through the setting of the babbling brook. 🙂 I chose the stream setting because I feel like that is the one place that I keep coming back to. I remember wading through the creek by an old mill at a state park my family used to hike at, a smaller creek where my siblings and I built fairy houses together, and another stream where I recently drew the portrait of Jessica. Just a few days ago, my drawing class even hiked past a beautiful stream and found a place by the water to draw our main setting for the day.

Overall, some of the symbols represent childhood experiences like reading Peter Rabbit and seeing his special house at the Atlanta Botanical Garden, pretending to swim like a mermaid in the summertime pools, canoeing and jumping off the rope swing with cousins at Lake Tate, digging my feet in the ocean water to find many sand dollars and starfish, squealing and hiding from creepy pet birds in my middle school science class, and getting poison ivy rashes summer after summer as an annoying tradition. Ah, nature! It’s always worth it with all the beautiful inspirations it offers.

5 thoughts on “A Growing Relationship with Nature

  1. Ellen Smith says:

    Awesome picture!

  2. Mary says:

    She’s BACK! Oh yes, this has such fun little corners of creativity – simply wonderful P&I Mamie. Congratulations on your 1st assignment ~

  3. […] piece was a second stage of my Growing Relationship with Nature piece. I deeply love Mother Earth, but of course we’ve had our chaotic ups and downs. 😛 […]

Leave a Reply

Artwork on Etsy!

Pieces of original artwork, prints, and custom journals with sewn covers are now available on Etsy for a great prices! The bright drawings and paintings make wonderful gifts and decorations.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Life Legacies

Mrs. Brenda Hotard: The Way Back to Dance Through Tatiana Dakoudovska

An Incredible Story of a Life Devoted to Dance and So Much More    THE WAY BACK TO DANCE THROUGH TATIANA DOKOUDOVSKA   This time, everything was going my way in Leavenworth, Kansas. My husband had risen in rank and experience and was delighted with his new position as Chief Executive Officer of the installation. Our […]

