Child from Nicaragua Memory Project

5

July 30, 2014 by mamie

Memory ProjectMemory Project Jessica

 

Completed Date: 6/2/14

Medium: soft pastel

Description: To end the year in Art Club, we all participated in something called “The Memory Project” where an organization connects children around the world with art students in the United States. The organization sends pictures of neglected, orphaned, or disadvantaged youth from other countries to students like us so that the students can paint or draw portraits of the children to send back. Then, the organization goes to the specific city or village to help in that community and to deliver the portraits. They also send back a picture of the child with the portrait to the artist who created it. It’s a really cool organization!

photo (67)The child assigned to me was Jessica from Nicaragua, and I got the cutest photo of her. This summer, I had a great time drawing the portrait for her outside on a beautiful day while my dad and brother fished in a creek nearby. It was very peaceful and relaxing.

I haven’t gotten the picture of her with the portrait just yet, but I’m excited for it to come. Even though I couldn’t meet Jessica in person, it’s nice to know I could do a little something to hopefully put a smile on her face. She definitely put a smile on mine!

photo 2 (1)

 

5 thoughts on “Child from Nicaragua Memory Project

  1. This is so lovely, wonderfully painted! Love the eyes, it got the glow of a million! Love the story behind of it and I’m happy to hear that you participating in such a good way to help humanity to better itself! Congrats to you!

    • mamie says:

      Thank you so much, Eva! I was really excited when my teacher let us know about the project. I think it’s a really cool way to make a little difference in a kid’s life by letting them know someone out there cares about them. 🙂

  2. Mary says:

    Ah Mamie, this is such a great project for you to participate in. You have such a gentle and kind soul, a connection with your subjects and this piece tells a beautiful story. I agree with Eva, your drawing is such a wonderful portrait, those eyes belie her surroundings as they radiate such light and happiness. Can’t wait for you to post her photograph of showing her with your painting.

    • mamie says:

      You always have the best words to say, Mary. Thank you so much! They always mean so much for me to read.

      *Mamie *

      On Thu, Jul 31, 2014 at 9:23 AM, Artistic Imaginings wrote:

      >

  3. […] where my siblings and I built fairy houses together, and another stream where I recently drew the portrait of Jessica. Just a few days ago, my drawing class even hiked past a beautiful stream and found a place by the […]

Leave a Reply

Artwork on Etsy!

Pieces of original artwork, prints, and custom journals with sewn covers are now available on Etsy for a great prices! The bright drawings and paintings make wonderful gifts and decorations.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Life Legacies

Mrs. Brenda Hotard: The Way Back to Dance Through Tatiana Dakoudovska

An Incredible Story of a Life Devoted to Dance and So Much More    THE WAY BACK TO DANCE THROUGH TATIANA DOKOUDOVSKA   This time, everything was going my way in Leavenworth, Kansas. My husband had risen in rank and experience and was delighted with his new position as Chief Executive Officer of the installation. Our […]

