Wishing Well (Concentration 9)

6

July 10, 2014 by mamie

Concentration9b

 

Completed Date: 4/24/14

Medium: oil pastel and newspaper

Description: After doing so many melancholy paintings of shacks, I decided to paint a more hopeful and colorful old structure as my concentration was drawing to a close. I still stuck with the black and white theme, especially with the man-made well, but around the boring, falling apart structure lie the vibrant grasses and bushes, bursting with color and framing the well.

As I began filling in the scene, I kept thinking about the part of the Disney classic Snow White when the peasant princess sings by the well making a wish. While she gathers a bucket of water with her head in the clouds, her prince suddenly surprises her out of the blue! It’s one of my favorite moments.

In my painting, I don’t know what wish is exactly being made, but it could be for a cleaner environment, a better world, or like Snow White, simply someone to love. No matter what wishes people wish or what dreams they dream, all that matters is that we still have people wishing, dreaming, and hoping. Who knows? If all those certain wishes keep echoing in peoples’ hearts, they may all someday come true.

 

I’m Wishing
From “Snow White and the seven dwarfs”
Music and Lyrics by Frank Churchill and Larry Morey

 

Make a wish into the well
That’s all you have to do
And if you hear it echoing
Your wish will soon come true

I’m wishing (I’m wishing)
For the one I love
To find me (To find me)
Today (Today)
I’m hoping (I’m hoping)
And I’m dreaming of
The nice things (The nice things)
He’ll say (He’ll say)

Ah hahahaha (Ah hahahaha)
Ah hahahaha (Ah hahahaha)
Ah hahahaha (Ah hahahaha)
Ah hahahahahahaha

I’m wishing (I’m wishing)
For the one I love
To find me (To find me)
Today

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Wishing Well (Concentration 9)

  1. I love it, it’s brilliant and the story behind makes it even better! Hope your wish will come true as Snow White’s did!

  2. Mary says:

    Such a beautiful theme for this painting Mamie – it’s bright with promise and wonderful wishes of goodwill. I’m loving that you’re painting with oil pastels – I’d like to know what you think of them. Are you enjoying painting without brushes and what brands you’re using. Lovely painting and poem to go along.

    • mamie says:

      Thank you so much! I haven’t used oil pastels in a while, but I really do like using them. (I always love seeing your paintings and techniques.) At first (with my Carnation flower piece), I tried the cheap Artist Loft pastels from Michaels, but they were very waxy and hard to use. My favorite kind are the soft Pentels, but I also like the Cray-pas. Which kinds do you usually use?

      • Mary says:

        Hi Mamie, I typically will use four OPs purchased form DickBlick or Jerry’s Art Arama: Senneliers (the softest of all brands, almost like painting with lipstick – love these on paper), Holbeins (nice quality, good color selection, they are soft (not like Senneliers) and square so edging is very easy, Neopastels (soft and easy for paper and hardboard), Mungyo-Gallery (soft and easy for paper and hardboard). All are artist quality, perform and hold up well. All can be purchased by the stick and the Neopastels and Mungyo are the least expensive of the four but again perform really well.

      • mamie says:

        Wow, I looked them up, and they all look great! The next time I feel like treating myself, I’ll have to try them out. I usually use the student quality, so it’ll be nice to try those one of the next times I do oil pastels. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Artwork on Etsy!

Pieces of original artwork, prints, and custom journals with sewn covers are now available on Etsy for a great prices! The bright drawings and paintings make wonderful gifts and decorations.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Life Legacies

Mrs. Brenda Hotard: The Way Back to Dance Through Tatiana Dakoudovska

An Incredible Story of a Life Devoted to Dance and So Much More    THE WAY BACK TO DANCE THROUGH TATIANA DOKOUDOVSKA   This time, everything was going my way in Leavenworth, Kansas. My husband had risen in rank and experience and was delighted with his new position as Chief Executive Officer of the installation. Our […]

