Hidden (Concentration 3)

Leave a comment

June 3, 2014 by mamie

 

Concentration3b

Completed Date: 2/7/14

Medium: watercolor, pen & ink

Description: For this painting, my goal was to create a veil of dreary branches covering a hidden shack in the woods. The one trouble I had (and I usually have this trouble) was creating values and depth with the watercolors. Still, weeks after I started this piece, I went back to add darker colors, and even though it helped with more depth, it ended up creating more joyful colors, too. That wasn’t exactly what I was after at the beginning, but I like how it turned out. (Not everything has to be quite so gloomy…)

In the branches are the words of Robert Frost’s poem “A Late Walk.” I had never heard this poem before, but when I read it, I loved the nostalgic feeling of a lonely evening at the end of summer. The phrases that stood out the most were “heavy dew,” “whir of sober birds,” “tangle of withered weeds,” and “softly rattling down.” The whole poem reminds me of a happiness and comfort suddenly going away with the wind and an apprehensive feeling, wondering if it will ever come back.

 

A LATE WALK

Robert Frost

When I go up through the mowing field,
The headless aftermath,
Smooth-laid like thatch with the heavy dew,
Half closes the garden path.

And when I come to the garden ground,
The whir of sober birds
Up from the tangle of withered weeds
Is sadder than any words

A tree beside the wall stands bare,
But a leaf that lingered brown,
Disturbed, I doubt not, by my thought,
Comes softly rattling down.

I end not far from my going forth
By picking the faded blue
Of the last remaining aster flower
To carry again to you.

Leave a Reply

Artwork on Etsy!

Pieces of original artwork, prints, and custom journals with sewn covers are now available on Etsy for a great prices! The bright drawings and paintings make wonderful gifts and decorations.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Life Legacies

Mrs. Brenda Hotard: The Way Back to Dance Through Tatiana Dakoudovska

An Incredible Story of a Life Devoted to Dance and So Much More    THE WAY BACK TO DANCE THROUGH TATIANA DOKOUDOVSKA   This time, everything was going my way in Leavenworth, Kansas. My husband had risen in rank and experience and was delighted with his new position as Chief Executive Officer of the installation. Our […]

