Old Structures from Rural GA Roads (AP Concentration)

Leave a comment

May 10, 2014 by mamie

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For some reason, I’ve always had a connection with shacks. When I stare out windows on road trips, I wonder about old structures I see. I admire the shapes of shacks falling apart and weeds and wilderness winding inside and out the cracks. I imagine the families who lived in the abandoned houses. What stories do they tell? As I was brainstorming ideas for this year’s concentration (12 pieces with the same theme), I remembered my favorite project in 8th grade: studying the Georgian artist, Beverly Buchanan and her shacks. I was feeling the motivation, so I decided to go with it!

To study old structures in Georgia, I drove on the rural roads in my dad’s truck and stopped to take reference pictures of the inspiring spots. (I think it’s so frustrating to try to find good reference pictures online and then have to make them original somehow…) The whole thing was a really great adventure, and we had fun stopping for barbecue to get in the Southern mode. 🙂

I ended up choosing 10 of the photographs along the way and worked with text, color, and design to interpret each piece. I incorporated songs and poems, which I thought went with the overall idea, into each painting, and I also switched up the mediums. Today was actually the day I sent in all my work! Above in the slideshow are a lot of my photographs I started with, and bit by bit, I’ll post each of the 10 Concentrations. Below is my painting from a long time ago that inspired me to keep going with the idea:

A Shack in the Woods

Leave a Reply

Artwork on Etsy!

Pieces of original artwork, prints, and custom journals with sewn covers are now available on Etsy for a great prices! The bright drawings and paintings make wonderful gifts and decorations.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Life Legacies

Mrs. Brenda Hotard: The Way Back to Dance Through Tatiana Dakoudovska

An Incredible Story of a Life Devoted to Dance and So Much More    THE WAY BACK TO DANCE THROUGH TATIANA DOKOUDOVSKA   This time, everything was going my way in Leavenworth, Kansas. My husband had risen in rank and experience and was delighted with his new position as Chief Executive Officer of the installation. Our […]

