An American in Paris (1951)

Leave a comment

June 27, 2012 by mamie

—5 STARS— 

Wow! ‘Sss wonderful! ‘Sss marvelous! C’est magnifique… très magnifique!!!

This movie has everything: wonderful music, wonderful story, wonderful actors, wonderful dancing, wonderful costumes, and wonderful scenery because, of course– they’re in Paris. When I was watching this movie, I couldn’t believe that I had never seen it before. It’s such a classic! During the movie, I kept thinking of my grandmother who was a gorgeous college student at the time the movie was made. At one part in the movie, Gene Kelly mentions American junior-year-abroaders in a sarcastic tone, and it made me laugh because my grandmother spent her junior year abroad in France!

I really did love the story! It made love seem so passionate, simple, and real. And boy! The whole ballet at the very end was a perfect visual representation of Gershwin’s music, in my opinion! It made me think of my amazing ballet teacher, Ms. Brenda, who choreographed a piece two years ago to Gershwin’s “Three Preludes” for me and my three other friends. The music is so abstract but approachable, at the same time. Kelly’s fantastic tappin’ around made me think of my teacher’s whimsical, casual side, and Caron’s gorgeous ballet skills reminded me of her elegant, thoughtful side. Everything about the movie was very touching, personal, and funny, too! Definitely watch it if you haven’t already. It’ll make you want to jump up, dance, sing, and dive right into the fifties!

Reminded me of: the movie The Red Shoes (1948), the book Pardon My French by Cathy Hapka, the book Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, my grandmother, my ballet teacher, my French teacher Mme. Porto

Leave a Reply

Artwork on Etsy!

Pieces of original artwork, prints, and custom journals with sewn covers are now available on Etsy for a great prices! The bright drawings and paintings make wonderful gifts and decorations.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Life Legacies

Mrs. Brenda Hotard: The Way Back to Dance Through Tatiana Dakoudovska

An Incredible Story of a Life Devoted to Dance and So Much More    THE WAY BACK TO DANCE THROUGH TATIANA DOKOUDOVSKA   This time, everything was going my way in Leavenworth, Kansas. My husband had risen in rank and experience and was delighted with his new position as Chief Executive Officer of the installation. Our […]

